technomology

we don't know but perhaps a fellow anorak will - ask them here
User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 7:14 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:17 pm

That's good to hear. Now have you got any decent mp3s to share?

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:41 pm

we're talking my record collection unfortunately

watch this space! :wink:

User avatar
Big Nose
Posts: 1289
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:27 am

Post by Big Nose » Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:58 pm

I hope you rip those Mike Sarne albums soon fella, I am salivating here.

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:10 pm

oh, I nicked them off soulseek

cheers, contravene, I'm happily 'ripping' now... it sounds bloody odd when I'm recording (so I have the sound off) but the playback is entirely listenable... as listenable as my music gets

right, mum?

linus

Post by linus » Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:52 pm

confusion reigns... while cackhandedly attempting to fashion a podcast of sorts, I attached a microphone to my pc and using 'audacity' recorded my voice and then pasted on a song after but the quarest of things occured and the song is a different speed to my talking voice (it's slower) and then I tried it the other way and, amusingly, it was now my voice that was speeded up

what the blazes am I doing wrong and how can I remedy this peculiar phenomena?

yours sincerely,

xxxxxxxo (mrs)

User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 7:14 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:30 pm

Something to do with sample rates

See on the left of yer waveforms it has the filename maybe, and a wee downwards arrow and below that it says something like Stereo 48000Hz, or Mono 44100Hz. What I think your problem is is that your music and your talking are at two different sample rates so when you stick them together Audacity just doesn't give a shit and choses one sample rate to use and squishes both tracks into it.

The neat quick solution to your woes would involve using the Project>Quick Mix feature which squishes two audio tracks down into one. You might have to insert silence into the start of the music track so that the talking and music doen't overlap.

User avatar
Mr Bear
Posts: 2816
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:48 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/cold_discovery
Location: Here and there

Post by Mr Bear » Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:34 am

I've got a bit of a scart conundrum and was wondering if anyone could help:

I've got a TV with one scart socket, and three items - freeview box, DVD player, wii - with scart leads to go into it. Being essentially a very lazy individual I can't really be bothered fishing around with cables every time I want to switch between each thing so was wondering whether there was a nifty way to hook them all together with a result, for example, of the freeview box being the default connection, but if I turn the wii or DVD player they override it.

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
darvé
Posts: 2037
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:56 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/darve
Location: London

Post by darvé » Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:45 am

yeah, you just need to get a scart splitter box thing, theyre dead cheap, ours came from tesco for about £7 or something, you plug the 3 devices into the splitter then connect to the single scart lead on the tv and away you go, it only picks up the device thats turned on at the time.

You can get more flash ones with buttons and switches and stuff for about £15-20 but thats probably more trouble than its worth.

User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 7:14 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:52 am

Maplin do SCART switching boxes where you can plug in three or four scart connectors and there are buttons number similarly, so you don't have to unplug owt.
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?Mod ... ng&doy=7m3
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?Mod ... ng&doy=7m3

If you're just wanting to daisy chain all your scart devices together, its hellishly complicated and I've never seen it work properly. Whilst I'm open minded enough to think that its possible and some people have got their systems working properly, I think it's beyond mere mortals to do it.

User avatar
Mr Bear
Posts: 2816
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:48 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/cold_discovery
Location: Here and there

Post by Mr Bear » Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:53 am

Oh! I did wonder if those were available - I presumed they would be but wasn't sure. Nice one, I'll have a look at lunchtime. Thanks!

User avatar
RITH
Posts: 3355
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 8:35 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/RITH
Location: Almere
Contact:

Re: technomology

Post by RITH » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:47 pm

If I'd buy a kinda cheap USB record player (say up to about € 150,-) would it be really crappy? My ancient record player suddenly stopped working, and I'm about to buy a replacement, but I haven't got a lot of money to spend. Any recommendations?

User avatar
crystalball
Posts: 5197
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:04 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/felters
Location: That London
Contact:

Re: technomology

Post by crystalball » Thu Apr 24, 2008 11:34 am

I've got one of those USB turntables (the Ion one), D, and it's fine. Not the greatest record player I've ever had but it does the job and it's good to be able to rip the vinyl straight onto your computer.

User avatar
Tomb
Posts: 1263
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 12:53 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tomb242
Location: Legra
Contact:

Re: technomology

Post by Tomb » Thu Apr 24, 2008 11:51 am

RITH wrote:If I'd buy a kinda cheap USB record player (say up to about € 150,-) would it be really crappy? My ancient record player suddenly stopped working, and I'm about to buy a replacement, but I haven't got a lot of money to spend. Any recommendations?
You will be better off buying one of the Bush mini turntables, such as a MTT1, rather than a USB one. They come with a pre -amp and you can plug it in straight into the soundcards line-in socket. Much cheaper than a USB turntable and they sound much better. What Hi FI has given it their highest award so they can't be bad!

There are some starting for just a few squid on e-bay!

User avatar
RITH
Posts: 3355
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 8:35 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/RITH
Location: Almere
Contact:

Re: technomology

Post by RITH » Thu Apr 24, 2008 11:59 am

Thanks, both of you!

User avatar
tonieee
Posts: 4471
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:40 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tonieee
Location: Sheffield Sex City
Contact:

Re: technomology

Post by tonieee » Thu Apr 24, 2008 12:18 pm

Tomb wrote:You will be better off buying one of the Bush mini turntables, such as a MTT1, rather than a USB one. They come with a pre -amp and you can plug it in straight into the soundcards line-in socket. Much cheaper than a USB turntable and they sound much better. What Hi FI has given it their highest award so they can't be bad!
I've got one of these and it's pretty good (or was until my son hid the needle!). I've not tried plugging it into the computer using the pre-amp though so I can't vouch for that.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest