Excel help

we don't know but perhaps a fellow anorak will - ask them here
Post Reply
biglankyian
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:24 pm

Excel help

Post by biglankyian » Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:47 pm

hello

i'm making a spreadsheet for other people to complete.

i want to add a button which allows the user to add a row when needed.

my mind is blank thanks to it being 1st day back.

any ideas computer folks?

Ta

User avatar
caramarydaisy
Posts: 2483
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 8:51 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: sheffield

Re: Excel help

Post by caramarydaisy » Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:56 pm

what sort of form are you making and why are you doing it on excel? im not sure you can add buttons on excel can you? i just right click and insert, which will add a row if you have a row highlighted.

yr not thinking about adding buttons and fields etc in an access database type form are you?

one of my pet hates is people using excel spreadsheets to make forms that are really best done on access.

none of this probably helps you much..
i said OK! the wind said no

biglankyian
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:24 pm

Re: Excel help

Post by biglankyian » Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:06 pm

it's someone else's form that i'm adjusting.

it's due to be sent out to different offices to return some stats to us but some offices will use 30 rows and others will use up to 500.

to stop the users with more data stopping when they get to 30 i thought it would be easier to have something they can click which can insert a new row. i'm sure i've used one on an excel thing before.

User avatar
caramarydaisy
Posts: 2483
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 8:51 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: sheffield

Re: Excel help

Post by caramarydaisy » Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:26 pm

thats why doing a form in access is so much better than in excel. you can do that there fairly easily if i remember :P

a quick google search brings up this tho:

http://en.allexperts.com/q/Excel-1059/2 ... button.htm

macros i really dont get, so i dunno how easy that is to follow, but good luck!!
i said OK! the wind said no

biglankyian
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:24 pm

Re: Excel help

Post by biglankyian » Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:32 pm

thanks cara

i've been doing google searches all morning but the things they brought up confused me. i'll give this one a go now that i've woken up a bit.

re:access i don't think my office has it, i've never been made to use it if it has (but don't give them any ideas...the one's that i use are difficult enough ie Word + Excel!)

:)
x

User avatar
darvé
Posts: 2037
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:56 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/darve
Location: London

Re: Excel help

Post by darvé » Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:51 pm

Anorak, help please.

Tomorrow morning i have to do the following (in Excel) in an interview -

Prepare a spreadsheet for your team to log all QC errors across a period of a week. This should be in a format that can be reviewed with each team member separately.

how do i do that then?

(The QC Error part is jargon, that could anything really.)
and that snare drum, that drum roll
means we've got a winner

User avatar
tonieee
Posts: 4471
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:40 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tonieee
Location: Sheffield Sex City
Contact:

Re: Excel help

Post by tonieee » Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:01 pm

davo wrote:Anorak, help please.

Tomorrow morning i have to do the following (in Excel) in an interview -

Prepare a spreadsheet for your team to log all QC errors across a period of a week. This should be in a format that can be reviewed with each team member separately.

how do i do that then?

(The QC Error part is jargon, that could anything really.)
He he. I understand what it is!

I can't really help you as I don't know much Excel but I can't really see the point in taking all the data out of QC and sticking it into a spreadsheet. Why not just get them to look at it in QC itself? I know QC has a tool to export the data to an Excel document but even so...

Edit: Just re-read the bit that says "to log all QC errors" - does that mean they want people to type the details of the errors into the spreadsheet as well into QC? That seems bonkers.

User avatar
darvé
Posts: 2037
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:56 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/darve
Location: London

Re: Excel help

Post by darvé » Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:09 pm

I think i might have added an extra level of confusion here, the 'QC error' part is just what the company want me to log, it's just their data, it could be anything (i'm not sure their particular 'QC error' data is yet)

I guess what i need in simple terms is how create an Excel spreadsheet (and it has to be Excel, as thats what they've asked) for x amount of staff where you can format it to just see each staff coloumn/row on it's own.

Just had a play around, and i got bored after about 30 seconds. oh well.
and that snare drum, that drum roll
means we've got a winner

User avatar
tonieee
Posts: 4471
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:40 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tonieee
Location: Sheffield Sex City
Contact:

Re: Excel help

Post by tonieee » Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:13 pm

davo wrote:I think i might have added an extra level of confusion here, the 'QC error' part is just what the company want me to log, it's just their data, it could be anything (i'm not sure their particular 'QC error' data is yet)
It was just me assuming I knew what you where talking about. QC is the name of the product we use at work for logging errors in the systems we are building. Sorry for being confusing Davo.

bocken
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:58 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: N8.
Contact:

Re: Excel help

Post by bocken » Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:39 pm

AutoFilter to select whichever member of staff you want to look at?

User avatar
darvé
Posts: 2037
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:56 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/darve
Location: London

Re: Excel help

Post by darvé » Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:38 pm

Excellent, thanks for that, i've had a play around and it seems to be just what i need, at least enough to blag it and thats good enough for me.
and that snare drum, that drum roll
means we've got a winner

User avatar
Wheatabeat
Posts: 1492
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 8:47 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: Manchester

Re: Excel help

Post by Wheatabeat » Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:15 am

Ooh, could someone help please? I've attached a screengrab.

Image

I need to be able to put my formula in column B2 (green). It needs to look at the data in C2 (yellow), match it to the data in column N (grey) and return the correct value in column O. How on earth do I do it? I suspect it may be a look-up function, but using those gives me a headache. Please help, if it's possible. Also want to be able to copy that formula throughout column B.

Cheers, I'd love you forever if you could ease my predicament (and save me about 25 minutes every week!!
Fuck your tea room.

User avatar
Tomb
Posts: 1263
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 12:53 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tomb242
Location: Legra
Contact:

Re: Excel help

Post by Tomb » Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:27 am

I cannot see the screengrab here at work but you are talking about VLOOKUP or HLOOKUP functions i'm afraid.

Feel free to send me the spreadsheet if you get stuck.

Copying a formula for a whole column is easy. Put the mouse at the right hand of the cell until a black + appears then double click. The formula (or anything else you wish) is copied for the whole column.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest