The Pastels

everything else

Moderator: Paquito

linus

The Pastels

Post by linus » Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:07 pm

Do we not have a Pastels thread already? I couldn't find it

Regardless... a thread for The Pastels, a band often jostling shambolically for a place in my top three bands I love utterly of all time list

It's been something like 27 years that Stephen and assorted line-ups have been making music... I've been listening to them since 1985 when Zigzag magazine refered to them as 'The (Sex) Pastels' and a photo of Stephen in leather trousers and an anorak convinced me they may be onto something (although I pointedly ignored everything else ZigZag wrote about: The Danse Society; Sex Gang Children and Bone Orchard, for example)

'Truck Train Tractor' sealed the deal but then 'Breaking Lines' was what made me swear I'd love them always

I've just started (and it really is a tiny gesture at present) a Flickr group to collect all kinds of Pastels ephemera from your Friend of the Pastels membership card to fliers and fanzines, live photos and Aggi's beautiful singular artwork

If you'd like to participate, I'd love you forever:

http://www.flickr.com/groups/pastelism_123/

Whatever happened to their new LP and the Tenniscoats collaboration?

Stephen Pastel (Bearsden's very own Barry White) is my Stephen Patrick Must-we-go-on?

I was too young to embrace Orange Juice and Postcard as fervently as I would have liked (and later did in retrospect) and The Pastels were right there when I needed them most (meaning here was a band that was POP and that was soft but hard and unmacho and gloriously right) and continue to be so over 20 years later although I wish they'd hurry up with their records

Don't stop the body rock

Above: Me, friend

linus

Re: The Pastels

Post by linus » Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:10 pm

I think I was trying to look like both Niki and Chris from Huggy Bear in that photo, by the way

timahall
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/timahall