Maths Puzzles

work, studying, science, nature
oxo_foxo

Maths Puzzles

Post by oxo_foxo » Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:25 pm

OK, this is probably a really inappropriate post to put in the 'boffins' section, because I really don't know very much about maths at all. I'm not much of a boffin. I do find it lovely though.
I am a trainee teacher (primary school) and in maths lessons, one of my favourite things to do is give the children maths puzzles, like problem solving puzzles.

For example, one of my favourites is trying to make every number from 1 to 10, only using calculations that include four 4s. All of the main operation signs can be used as many times as possible and brackets can be used at will! Eg:
[(4x4)/4]/4 = 1 or, you could also do, [(4+4)-4]/4 = 1
(lovely example of the associative law there, too - this is a really good one for illustrating those!)
I believe it can actually be done for all numbers up to 20, but there's a few numbers I still can't work out! Get to work maths boffins!

I also like the puzzle where you substitute the digits in a times table for letters, and the children have to work out what digit each letter stands for and therefore what times table it is, eg:
H x C = GA
B x C = AI
GG x C = CC
A x C = I
J x C = AE
F x C = HD
GA x C = CI
G x C = C
I x C = HA
GE x C = CE
D x C = AC
C x C = GD

That one is quite a nice easy one, but they keep the kids busy for ages, and really get their brains going! I usually put them in small groups to do this sort of thing, so they can bounce all their ideas off each other, peer learning and all that.