Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

PCs, laptops, macs, mp3 players, consoles, peripherals
Post Reply
User avatar
Mr Bear
Posts: 2816
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:48
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/cold_discovery
Location: Here and there

Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Mr Bear » Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:03

You may not have a computer problem now, but you might in the future. Post it here and we'll see if we can help.

agooner
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 14:51
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: Lydden, Kent

Post by agooner » Fri Oct 05, 2007 16:26

we recently changed to cable broadband from telephone line,

on this puter the wireless connection won't stay on, every tens minutes or so it just goes

the other computers in the house aren't having this problem

agooner
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 14:51
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: Lydden, Kent

Post by agooner » Tue Oct 16, 2007 04:46

anyone know what I need to check?

User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 19:14
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Tue Oct 16, 2007 08:00

Windows Firewall?

agooner
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 14:51
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: Lydden, Kent

Post by agooner » Tue Oct 16, 2007 19:18

Contravene wrote:Windows Firewall?
I tryed turning that off but it was still happening

User avatar
Big Nose
Posts: 1289
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 09:27

Post by Big Nose » Tue Oct 16, 2007 21:08

My brother had this problem recently, his internet dropping because of his phones. He bought some filters for his phoneline, and his problem disappeared. Cheap, and it may work for you.

agooner
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 14:51
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: Lydden, Kent

Post by agooner » Tue Oct 16, 2007 23:58

Big Nose wrote:My brother had this problem recently, his internet dropping because of his phones. He bought some filters for his phoneline, and his problem disappeared. Cheap, and it may work for you.
we're not using the phoneline at all now, just broadband internet via cable

User avatar
humblebee
Posts: 10543
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 16:33
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/atomicbeatboy
Location: Sheffields
Contact:

Post by humblebee » Fri Oct 19, 2007 17:15

Why is Blogger such a piece of shit?

User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 19:14
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Fri Oct 19, 2007 18:11

Blogger's great, what seems to be the problem?

User avatar
chimes
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 18:45
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Contact:

Post by chimes » Fri Oct 19, 2007 19:27

agooner wrote:we recently changed to cable broadband from telephone line,

on this puter the wireless connection won't stay on, every tens minutes or so it just goes

the other computers in the house aren't having this problem
It's to do with the frequency/band thing it's on, innit. I had the same thing. I'll let others who know about these things elaborate...
Eh?

User avatar
humblebee
Posts: 10543
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 16:33
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/atomicbeatboy
Location: Sheffields
Contact:

Post by humblebee » Sat Oct 20, 2007 02:30

Contravene wrote:Blogger's great, what seems to be the problem?
Sometimes it won't publish, for no reason at all.

"Your publish is taking longer than expected. To continue waiting for it to finish, click here." Can't I just continue waiting without having to click anywhere?

It recently spent about a month talking to me in German.

I've got a double post on my blog but when I go to my dashboard to delete one, only one of them shows up.

The help function is no help at all, referring to things that aren't there.

I've had to change the ftp password for my domain so I changed it on Blogger and it says it's changed but when I try and publish it says the password isn't being accepted.

According to the dashboard, it's published today's post three times despite having said the password wasn't accepted, but when you actually view (and refresh) the blog today's post doesn't appear.

I could go on but I should go to bed.

User avatar
humblebee
Posts: 10543
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 16:33
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/atomicbeatboy
Location: Sheffields
Contact:

Post by humblebee » Sun Oct 21, 2007 19:43

OK, so I've got my Blogger problems sorted out but now my laptop is playing up. (I should probably have put the Blogger thing somewhere else, but hey.)

It keeps suddenly going into standby mode without being asked. Well I say standby mode: it doesn't actually come back round when you press the power button and you have to turn it off and back on again. But it's still on, when it does it. You can hear the drives and the fan going.

Quite a lot of the time it happens when the computer is moved. But not always.

It's a Dell laptop.

Anyone?

User avatar
squirrelboutique
Posts: 3590
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 18:05

Post by squirrelboutique » Mon Oct 29, 2007 21:27

Oooh. This video makes me angry! I hate that having a broken car or computer can leave me feeling so helpless and open to being ripped off.


a layer of chips
Posts: 18616
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 09:17
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Post by a layer of chips » Mon Nov 05, 2007 15:56

All I know about it soil, drive through car washes and paving slabs.

Therefore, how much should I be paying for a 512mb memory card from a shop?

User avatar
caramarydaisy
Posts: 2483
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 20:51
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: sheffield

advice please

Post by caramarydaisy » Mon Nov 26, 2007 16:08

hello, my computer is i think dying.

it makes a horrible loud noise like its going to take off. i have located the problem being one of the fans. i have had the casing off and hoovered dust and cant see any obstructions. its coming from the fan i think thats to do with the power unit, or certainly where the power cable plugs in.

sometimes when i hit it, the noise stops as its jolted the fan blades to stop whirring, but then it starts up again.

before having to take it to get fixed or looked at in a shop that will cost me money, does any one else have any further suggestions of things i could try*


*me being a complete computer idiot that is not really very technical or skilled..
i said OK! the wind said no

User avatar
tompony
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 08:37
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/lardpony
Location: matlock
Contact:

Post by tompony » Mon Nov 26, 2007 16:11

If you can get it open then there's usually a sticker on the middle of the fan that you can peel back and put a drop of oil in. That's helped a lot for me in the past.

If all else fails then the power supply isn't that expensive to replace, and it's not that tricky either - just remember what you've disconnected from where and make sure everything goes back in the same place (all of the connectors are different so you can't connect anything to the wrong place, really)

User avatar
tompony
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 08:37
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/lardpony
Location: matlock
Contact:

Post by tompony » Mon Nov 26, 2007 16:20

I spent a bit of money trying to make my computer as quiet as possible, and now my power supply and the main processor fan are almost silent, but the bastard GRAPHICS CARD fan makes enough noise to make the whole exercise pointless - I didn't even know it had a fan! Grrr.

User avatar
caramarydaisy
Posts: 2483
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 20:51
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: sheffield

Post by caramarydaisy » Mon Nov 26, 2007 16:41

i cant actually get to the fan in question because it is being a metal gril and the screws to remove it seem too obstructed by other things to easily get a screwdriver in. hrrm.

my computer, quite badly, has probably been kept on for non stop for ages, i never turn it off, altho i have started too recently for fear that it will have exploded or something while im out.

its really old tho to be honest, it needs all its memory seriously updating, so its prolly not worth spending anything much on replacing. ive got enough money coming my way at xmas (cos my sister had to replace her laptop) so i could buy something new if necessary, id just rather not have to if avoidable.

perhaps ill see if i can get to the fan in question later on this evening and go from there..
i said OK! the wind said no

User avatar
Trev
Posts: 6877
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:56
Last.fm: lostmusic
Location: Cardiff
Contact:

Post by Trev » Mon Nov 26, 2007 18:52

caramarydaisy wrote:i cant actually get to the fan in question because it is being a metal gril and the screws to remove it seem too obstructed by other things to easily get a screwdriver in. hrrm.

my computer, quite badly, has probably been kept on for non stop for ages, i never turn it off, altho i have started too recently for fear that it will have exploded or something while im out.

its really old tho to be honest, it needs all its memory seriously updating, so its prolly not worth spending anything much on replacing. ive got enough money coming my way at xmas (cos my sister had to replace her laptop) so i could buy something new if necessary, id just rather not have to if avoidable.

perhaps ill see if i can get to the fan in question later on this evening and go from there..
Buy a can of Compressed Air. Blow out the dust with it. I take the lid of my PC every 6 months or so and blow out every fan and all the dust. I work in IT for my day job too - just so you don't think I am some random crank offering duff advice. I could still be. But, y'know, I fix these things for a living.

Image

The grill is part of the power supply. You'd have remove the whole unit if it needed replacing. A new PSU can be as little as £20/£30 I think.
not really here

User avatar
La-Di-Da
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 12:10
Location: The 'Shire

Post by La-Di-Da » Wed Dec 12, 2007 14:42

WHY CAN'T I INSTALL FONTS.
Oh my fucking God I could scream.

I want a stupid Christmas font for the stupid carol service programme I have to do.
It keeps telling me the file is in use when I try and install the font.
I'm so angry!

Please help me.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest