Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

PCs, laptops, macs, mp3 players, consoles, peripherals
Dan Pop-o-matic
Posts: 2036
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 13:40
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/DanPopomatic
Location: Sheffields

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Dan Pop-o-matic » Mon Jan 31, 2011 17:57

Thanks for the advice so far.

The connection is becoming increasingly intermittent via the ethernet cable now as well. A diagnostic the computer ran suggested that the problem was the HTTP and HTTPS thingys and I should check the firewall settings. It now won't let me check the firewall settings due to an "unexplained problem".

I've tried virus scanning (nothing found) and system restore, which as usual did fuck all.

The next thing I'm trying is throwing it out of a window. That'll learn it.

User avatar
jayen_aitch
Posts: 2660
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 00:54
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/jayen_aitch/
Location: sverige

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by jayen_aitch » Mon Jan 31, 2011 22:32

That is massively frustrating, good luck with it.

I bought a thing called a pogoplug for our network on Sunday, but I didn't get on with it, and I took it back today. Also, I've now had to format one of my hard disks after using it. I thought I'd backed everything up... but I missed some, gah.

roundbitsofplastic
Posts: 5336
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:57
Location: Brumagem

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by roundbitsofplastic » Wed May 18, 2011 13:10

When I click on search results in Google something keeps redirecting me to other sites.

I've run (updated) Malwarebytes but it finds nothing. Anyone got any ideas how to stop this?
I am struck speechless by the nape of your neck.

Human Vegan
Bite Yr Lip

User avatar
This Is Helena
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 23:38
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tout_va_bien
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by This Is Helena » Wed May 18, 2011 20:14

roundbitsofplastic wrote:When I click on search results in Google something keeps redirecting me to other sites.

I've run (updated) Malwarebytes but it finds nothing. Anyone got any ideas how to stop this?
It might be worth having a look at this site: http://www.ehow.com/how_5842581_remove- ... virus.html

I think I had this once and it was a real pain to get rid of. I was lucky in as much as my anti-virus software was able to find the culprit. It's possible that this is a variant which is able to hide from Malwarebytes. In the long run it might be better to re-install Windows or, if you don't really need Windows, use Linux as it's a lot less trouble. Sorry I couldn't be of more help.
be popular play pop

roundbitsofplastic
Posts: 5336
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:57
Location: Brumagem

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by roundbitsofplastic » Thu May 19, 2011 15:34

Thanks!

I think I've done that. It's all Greek to me, though. I can't uninstall Windows cos it's my work computer. This stuff breaks my brain.

I'm not sure *what's* going on anymore. boo hoo :(
I am struck speechless by the nape of your neck.

Human Vegan
Bite Yr Lip

User avatar
Gordon
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 22:33
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/GreenGordon
Location: King's Landing
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Gordon » Thu May 19, 2011 17:19

If it's a work computer isn't there an IT bod to look into this stuff, and keep the computers locked down so it doesn't happen again? Aside from having good up-to-date virus and malware checkers, try using the task manager (ctrl-alt-delete first to get to it) and googling programs that are running that you don't recognise.

Linux is probably better for avoiding this stuff, but it's still a pain in the bottom.
Toot toot.

roundbitsofplastic
Posts: 5336
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:57
Location: Brumagem

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by roundbitsofplastic » Fri May 20, 2011 15:09

Gordon wrote:If it's a work computer isn't there an IT bod to look into this stuff, and keep the computers locked down so it doesn't happen again?
Yea, but we use an external company. They seemed to have fixed it, then I noticed the re-direct thingy.

EDIT: Gordon, I've tried Task Manager and there's nowt running that shouldn't be :-/
I am struck speechless by the nape of your neck.

Human Vegan
Bite Yr Lip

Murray

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Murray » Thu Jun 02, 2011 19:10

Ignore me - all sorted now.

Jangloid Mark
Posts: 1458
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 18:38
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/JanglyMark
Location: Swansea, Wales
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Jangloid Mark » Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:49

Is there an easy way of burning *.flv and *.mp4 (video) files to DVD *WITHOUT* converting?

Basically, the situation I have is this...

I've only got 10 GIG left on my hard drive.
My portable hard drive has less than 1 GIG left.

I have a pack of 100 DVDs (a Christmas present last year...I wanted CDRs but, my nan, not knowing the difference got me blank DVDs) sitting here doing nothing much at all...

Eventually, I'll get a 500 GIG external drive, but, right now, money doesn't allow that.

So, in the meantime, I want to put some of the older videos onto DVDs to free up some space on my portable drive - essentially treating the DVDs as data discs. I have no interest in watching through the DVD player hooked up to my telly.

Even if all I do is store the files on DVD until I get a bigger drive, I will be happy with that.

But, how to do it?
Love is a weakness in the knees...it's dangerous on the stairs...

Bandcamp : https://janglymark.bandcamp.com/
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/Jangly.Mark
Skype : Jangly Mark (feel free to call me)

User avatar
tompony
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 08:37
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/lardpony
Location: matlock
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by tompony » Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:54

"essentially treating the DVDs as data discs"

DVDs ARE data discs, so that's exactly what you need to do. The software that you use to burn DVDs should have a "data disc" option, or similar. If it doesn't, this one is free and will do the job (ignore the misleading name): http://cdburnerxp.se/en/home

Jangloid Mark
Posts: 1458
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 18:38
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/JanglyMark
Location: Swansea, Wales
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Jangloid Mark » Mon Nov 19, 2012 13:32

Thanks for the quick answer :)

Sadly, that program won't work for me...

"CD Burner XP 4.0 requires .NET Framework"

Is there something similar that doesn't require this? I have previously pulled my hair out removing this very thing from my Firefox after Micro$oft put it on as an add-on without my permission or even knowledge...
Love is a weakness in the knees...it's dangerous on the stairs...

Bandcamp : https://janglymark.bandcamp.com/
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/Jangly.Mark
Skype : Jangly Mark (feel free to call me)

User avatar
Wheatabeat
Posts: 1492
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 08:47
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: Manchester

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Wheatabeat » Sun Feb 10, 2013 19:25

Can anyone help a complete tech duffer like me set up my new NAS drive? I'm having problems mapping it so it appears on my computer as a hard drive.

It's a D-Link Sharecenter and I've already inserted two 2Tb hard drives set to RAID1. I can kinda see it on my network but there's no folder to map it. I'm using Windows XP.
Fuck your tea room.

Jangloid Mark
Posts: 1458
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 18:38
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/JanglyMark
Location: Swansea, Wales
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Jangloid Mark » Sat Apr 13, 2013 10:19

Ok...the situation is this.

My amp has developed a fault. Only the left channel is working....just needs soldering, I reckon, but, right now, I can't afford to get it done.

Do, as a workaround, I'd like to play CDs through the PC (VLC Media Player to be exact).

Is there a way I can force windows (XP sp 3) to put the output in MONO? (So that both channels come through both ears - so that I hear everything)?

If so, how do I do it?

Thanks in advance :)

ADDITIONAL : my set up is this...

PC JACK PLUG (headphone socket) -> PHONO PLUGS IN AMP -> HEADPHONES WITH MONO/STEREO SWITCH
Love is a weakness in the knees...it's dangerous on the stairs...

Bandcamp : https://janglymark.bandcamp.com/
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/Jangly.Mark
Skype : Jangly Mark (feel free to call me)

User avatar
This Is Helena
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 23:38
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tout_va_bien
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by This Is Helena » Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:31

Jangloid Mark wrote:Ok...the situation is this.

My amp has developed a fault. Only the left channel is working....just needs soldering, I reckon, but, right now, I can't afford to get it done.

Do, as a workaround, I'd like to play CDs through the PC (VLC Media Player to be exact).

Is there a way I can force windows (XP sp 3) to put the output in MONO? (So that both channels come through both ears - so that I hear everything)?

If so, how do I do it?

Thanks in advance :)

ADDITIONAL : my set up is this...

PC JACK PLUG (headphone socket) -> PHONO PLUGS IN AMP -> HEADPHONES WITH MONO/STEREO SWITCH
I'm not running XP at the moment so can't see how to do it but I expect it's in the sound settings. You can also switch to mono from within VLC. I'm not really sure why you want to output in mono. Maybe I've completely misunderstood your post but the simplest thing to do would be to plug your headphones directly into the headphone output of the computer.
be popular play pop

Jangloid Mark
Posts: 1458
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 18:38
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/JanglyMark
Location: Swansea, Wales
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Jangloid Mark » Sun Apr 14, 2013 16:51

This Is Helena wrote:I'm not running XP at the moment so can't see how to do it but I expect it's in the sound settings. You can also switch to mono from within VLC. I'm not really sure why you want to output in mono. Maybe I've completely misunderstood your post but the simplest thing to do would be to plug your headphones directly into the headphone output of the computer.
Thanks, Helena :)

I have found the setting to switch to mono within VLC Media Player, so I'm happy.

There is one reason why I don't just plug the headphones into my PC. I am very slightly hard of hearing and even when everything is cranked up to maximum - there is simply not enough volume.

This is the very same reason that I started using VLC Media Player in the first place - it has a wonderful, life changing 400% volume boost (even more if you crank the EQ up!).

Simce using VLC, I have discovered just how great it is - it's played simply EVERYTHING (*almost) I've ever thrown at it, including region 1 DVDs!!!!

(*The only thing it's ever failed on is BBC Live player/BBC Iplayer - it would appear that the BBC are bastards when it comes to accesability and have purposely made it incompatable despite my many letters and emails).

Anyway, getting back to the (solved) problem at hand, this is the only way I can listen, hear everything and get a decent volume I can hear and enjoy.

I'm sure someone else could have written this same post in 2 lines...
Love is a weakness in the knees...it's dangerous on the stairs...

Bandcamp : https://janglymark.bandcamp.com/
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/Jangly.Mark
Skype : Jangly Mark (feel free to call me)

a layer of chips
Posts: 18616
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 09:17
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by a layer of chips » Wed May 15, 2013 13:30

Hello. I've got a problem saving jpegs. When I try and download a jpeg, it definitely downloads, but then doesn't open. Similarly, when I try and save it to a folder, it says it's saved but doesn't show up in the folder.

Anyone got any ideas? It's very frustrating.

User avatar
Gordon
Posts: 5351
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 22:33
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/GreenGordon
Location: King's Landing
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Gordon » Wed May 15, 2013 14:00

If you've not got someone local that can look into it, maybe we can set up a remote desktop session and i can hack into your computer.
Toot toot.

User avatar
tompony
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 08:37
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/lardpony
Location: matlock
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by tompony » Wed May 15, 2013 14:05

What browser are you using? I had a thing with Firefox a while ago where, when I attempted to download anything, it tried to scan it with a virus-checking add on that I had turned off, and since it couldn't scan it, it just deleted it with no notification that it had done anything.

It took me ages to work out what it was doing. Happy days.

a layer of chips
Posts: 18616
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 09:17
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by a layer of chips » Wed May 15, 2013 14:08

Yep, I'm using Firefox... how did you turn that back on, do you remember?

User avatar
tompony
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 08:37
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/lardpony
Location: matlock
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by tompony » Wed May 15, 2013 14:30


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest