Page 2 of 2

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:06
by Jangloid Mark
Thanks again for the previous answers.

One more quick question...
How do you set up an image for a website?

What I mean by that is....the image will appear in your bookmarks alongside the name of the website, and will also appear if you post a link to your website (EG. on Facebook)?

The image for Anorak, for example, is this one....

Image

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:10
by tompony
You need to create an icon file called "favicon.ico" and put it in the root folder of your website.

This site appears to be able to create the icon for you from any image: http://www.favicon.co.uk/

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:47
by Jangloid Mark
tompony wrote:You need to create an icon file called "favicon.ico" and put it in the root folder of your website.

This site appears to be able to create the icon for you from any image: http://www.favicon.co.uk/
Wow!!! That was quick!!!! Thank you very much!!!

It's not quite working, though...

Once I knew it was called a favicon, I was able to Google the html tag as well :)

The favicon file is here :

http://maclark.co.uk/janglymark/favicon.ico

My frontpage is here :

http://maclark.co.uk/janglymark/frontpage.htm

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:56
by indiehorse
Jangloid Mark wrote:Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
You've used funny speech marks. That might be it.

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:03
by Jangloid Mark
indiehorse wrote:
Jangloid Mark wrote:Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
You've used funny speech marks. That might be it.
Nope. That hasn't solved it.

If I point my browser at the Favicon itself, it shows up, but, doesn't when I look at th frontpage....

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:07
by indiehorse
Jangloid Mark wrote:Nope. That hasn't solved it.

If I point my browser at the Favicon itself, it shows up, but, doesn't when I look at th frontpage....
You've still got funny speech marks around the rel attribute.

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:13
by Jangloid Mark
indiehorse wrote:
Jangloid Mark wrote:Nope. That hasn't solved it.

If I point my browser at the Favicon itself, it shows up, but, doesn't when I look at th frontpage....
You've still got funny speech marks around the rel attribute.
Hmmm....removed those and it's still not working :(

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:20
by indiehorse
Jangloid Mark wrote:Hmmm....removed those and it's still not working :(
You need speech marks, but the regular ones. Due to copy and pasting or whatever, your speech marks came out funny.

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:26
by Jangloid Mark
indiehorse wrote:You need speech marks, but the regular ones. Due to copy and pasting or whatever, your speech marks came out funny.
Brilliant!!! Got it working now :) Thank you very much :)

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 02:22
by Jangloid Mark
Anyone know about IE6 redirects?
I got someone that still has IE6 to test it and was told....
That ended up opening itself repeatedly, and it took ages to close each page, because they kept reopening themselves.
Code is here (supposed to redirect to my frontpage)....I really can't see what I've done wrong....

<!--[if IE 6]>
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=http://maclark.co.uk/janglymark/frontpage.htm" />
<![endif]-->

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 07:30
by Big Nose
Jangloid Mark wrote:Anyone know about IE6 redirects?
I got someone that still has IE6 to test it and was told....
That ended up opening itself repeatedly, and it took ages to close each page, because they kept reopening themselves.
Code is here (supposed to redirect to my frontpage)....I really can't see what I've done wrong....

<!--[if IE 6]>
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=http://maclark.co.uk/janglymark/frontpage.htm" />
<![endif]-->
Check the Drawbacks and Alternatives sections on this page...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meta_refresh

If you insist on doing it this way, try setting the refresh to 5s.

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 00:06
by Jangloid Mark
Thanks :) Tried that, but, still doesn't work apparantly...

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 19:45
by Jangloid Mark
Here's an odd one...

This I really don't understand....

I am trying to link to a page on my website from Facebook. The link works....but, the preview does not. The preview (on Facebook) shows a previous incarnation of the page.

If I then rename the HTML file, and link to that, the preview is correct.
Both the coding and the text are IDENTICAL in both (the second is simply a renamed file).

When you click through from the link with the wrong preview, the page is fine....it's just the preview that comes out wrong....

Has anyone got an explanation, or a way to get round this?

The bit that's coming out wrong is coded thus...

<title>Jangly Mark's website | title of page</title>

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 14:39
by Big Nose
Facebook keeps a copy of your page in a cache for speed and efficiency (heh). This means that if you change a page it won't show from a Facebook link until they flush their cache.

http://umairj.com/146/how-to-clear-face ... res-cache/
http://hypertransitory.com/blog/2010/10 ... he-hell-2/

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 19:05
by Jangloid Mark
Thanks, Big Nose :) That is brilliant!!! Exactly what I was looking for :) Thank you very much :)

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 00:13
by Jangloid Mark
I need a little bit of help with a little HTML/Javascript file.

I didn't write this one, but, I want to add to it.

What it does : Plays BBC1 Live from BBC Live Player

What I want to do : Boost the volume.

These days, as much as I love Firefox, I use VLC Media Player for video content as it's got an excellent 400% volume boost (even more if you ramp the graphic EQ up).

(Alternatively, if someone knows a way of getting BBC Liveplayer to play in VLC Media Player, that would be a GODSEND.

Sadly, Firefox does not have such a function...so, for BBC Live Player, I want to do it this way...but, I've never coded a volume setting before and would not know where to start...

Anyway, the HTML file is attached....any help with this would be greatly appreciated...

Ok...it won't let me upload a HTML file....I've temporarily uploaded it here : http://maclark.co.uk/janglymark/bbc.htm

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:38
by indiehorse
Buy yourself some better speakers already.

EDIT: Sorry, that might not be the post helpful reply, but there isn't a helpful reply to give. You cannot amplify the volume through HTML or Javascript. I really can't understand why you're wanting to stream live tv through your website anyway.

Re: Help with HTML

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 12:23
by Jangloid Mark
indiehorse wrote:Buy yourself some better speakers already.

EDIT: Sorry, that might not be the post helpful reply, but there isn't a helpful reply to give. You cannot amplify the volume through HTML or Javascript. I really can't understand why you're wanting to stream live tv through your website anyway.
I only did that as it wouldn't let me attach the HTML file on here.

I use headphones not speakers as the volume I need would disturb others in the house. The problem with buying new headphones (or more specifically a new mixer allowing me to feed the PC line through my amp) is that currently, I do not have money. I really am not in a good place financially right now. As already said, with pretty much everything else, I use VLC which has the volume boost, but, can't get that to work with BBC Live player...

(Before anyone asks, I have perforrated eardrums and so don't hear as well as everyone else).